The 5,000 Fingers of Dr. T

Film: The 5,000 Fingers of Dr. T
Rated
: PG
Directed by: Dr. Seuss (Theodore Geisel)
Starring:  Hans Conreid as Dr. Terwilliker
              Tommy Rettig as Bart Cullins
               Peter Lind Hayes as Mr. Zoblowdowski
               Mary Healy as Heloise Cullins
Tagline:

By Scott from He Shot Cyrus

Pre-screening memories:

The Gilroy Public Library.  That’s where I first saw a VHS copy of The 5,000 Fingers of Dr. T.  Belonging to an avid reader, my ten-year-old eyes popped at the sight of a live-action Dr. Seuss movie.  It was added to a stack that most likely featured The Rescuers Down Under, two episodes of Ramona and Jurassic Park (which my mom made me put back every week).

At that point, I had already seen the Seuss cartoons.  Not just the popular ones like Horton Hears a Who.  Oh no, my favorite was Pontoffel Pock & His Magic Piano. I was very vocal about this.  Obviously, I was destined for a life filled with non-stop social engagements due to my unimaginable popularity.  Why they haven’t made a live action Pontoffel movie, I can’t fathom. 

The chance to watch Dr. Seuss come to life was once-in-a-childhood.  How the Grinch Stole Christmas would later pop up during my teen years but failed to appear on my radar.  Said social engagements were surely the cause.

Once my little brother finally finished whatever BBC “Chronicles of Narnia” mini-series he had checked out (again) it was time to live the dream.  Popped the tape in, fast-forwarded past the FBI WARNINGS and the previews and got right to the goods.  Apparently, there’s something special about those 5,000 Fingers because certain scenes still stick out in my memory.  It’s been ten years since my last viewing, but I can still remember every movement the two brothers-one beard characters make, including their death scene!

When I was an undergrad, a professor showed us Fritz Lang’s Metropolis.  INSERT: childhood cinematic flashback.  I’d bet that the director had some love in their heart for German Expressionism.  That being said, Dr. Seuss probably did as well.  The sets were so gigantic and magical.  There were ladders leading to nowhere, huge doors, and that 500-boy piano. 

The plot circles around a young boy who somehow gets sent to a magical world.  I can’t remember how.  An evil piano teacher has devised a plan to enslave 500 little boys (don’t worry, it’s a PG movie) and have them play an enormous piano.  Why he wants them to all play one piano, I can’t remember that either.  My 5,000 Fingers memories are mostly visual.  The plot plays like Swiss cheese in my brain.  It’d be interesting to see if the magic is still intact and if the storyline is anywhere as impressive as the cinematography.

Did the ivory tickler Dr. T still tickle Scott’s fancy? You can download it or listen here (Ed. – In this ep, it sounds as though Scott and I are speaking over one another in some parts. We were actually very considerate, but the recording somehow sped up our comments to overlap each other. Sorry. I’ll fix it in future eps.):

Addendum: We contacted Bill Davis, the pre-eminent Seuss-ologist whern it comes to ‘Dr. T’ with regards to this podcast, and he replied: ”

Probably the most interesting thing about the film is the fact that they cut 10 songs out of the film before it was released. The movie was supposed to be more about how the adults aren’t able to communicate to kids or to each other. I’m not saying the film would have been better received by the public if it had been released in the full version, but it would have been a different film.”

 

– Thanks to Bill and check out his ‘5,000 Fingers’ tribute page for more!

Now, onto the podcast:

3 Comments

  1. Who is this guy Scott? He’s brilliant!! And has one of the sexiest voices I’ve ever heard!! I must meet him.

  2. You’ll have to talk to his agent. It took me a couple years and several thousands of dollars just to get 30 minutes of his time. Of course, it was money well spent and Clooney will just have to get over the fact he was snubbed.

  3. Clooney, haha, that crybaby. First, I passed on the role of sexy, yet adorable pediatrician Doug Ross, and I never heard the end of it. He kept calling me for help. I felt like Hilary Clinton.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment

  • Now Flixster Certified!

  • BEETLEJUICE with GLENN SHADIX

  • LIONHEART with HARRISON PAGE

  • CLUE with director JONATHAN LYNN

  • NIGHTBREED with co-star SIMON BAMFORD

  • POPCORN with star DEREK RYDALL

  • CADDYSHACK with co-star CINDY MORGAN

  • THE WRAITH with co-star CHRIS NASH

  • THE LONELY LADY with co-star JARED MARTIN

  • darkcrystalsmall

    THE DARK CRYSTAL with puppeteer DAVE BARCLAY

  • mischiefsmall

    MISCHIEF with stars DOUG McKEON and CATHERINE MARY STEWART

  • christinesmall

    CHRISTINE with ALEXANDRA PAUL

  • rockulasmall

    ROCKULA with writer/director LUCA BERCOVICI

  • justonesmall

    JUST ONE OF THE GUYS with STU CHARNO

  • buffysmall

    BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER with producer DENNIS MURPHY, fx artist HANK CARLSON

  • tremorssmall

    TREMORS with co-star CHARLOTTE STEWART

  • 3oclocksmall

    THREE O'CLOCK HIGH REUNION with co-stars CAITLIN O'HEANEY, SCOTT TILER and LIZA MORROW

  • visionquestsmall

    VISION QUEST with author TERRY DAVIS

  • westwordlsmall

    WESTWORD with co-star JARED MARTIN

  • SKI PATROL with star Roger Rose

    skipatrolmini
  • BEAT STREET with Ralph Rolle

    beatstreet
  • NIGHT OF THE COMET with Kelli Maroney

    nightofcomet
  • Support Natsukashi: Visit 80s Tees

  • RAD with its star Bill Allen

    radsmall
  • HOUSE with its writer Ethan Wiley

    housesmall
  • THE TERROR WITHIN with its fx artist Bruce Barlow

    terrorwithinsmall
  • HARLEY DAVIDSON and the MARLBORO MAN with actor Jordan Lund

    harleysmall
  • TROLL with fx artist Jim Aupperle

    trollsmall
  • AMERICAN GRAFFITI with ‘Kip Pullman’

    americangraffiti

  • THE BLACK HOLE

    balckholesmall
  • RETURN FROM WITCH MOUNTAIN

    witchmountainsmall
  • THE GREAT MUPPET CAPER

    muppetcapersmall
  • BABY: SECRET of the LOST LEGEND

    babysmall
  • SWAMP THING

    swampthingsmall
  • NIGHT OF THE DEMONS

    nightofdemons
  • THE GIANT of MARATHON

    giantmarathonsmall
  • wordpress
counter